My Favorite Ponies: The Mane 6

mane_6_defenders_by_embersatdawn-d5ed8w6
Who deserves that #1 spot?

Hey guys, its your girl KrisSimsters and I can’t tell you who’s my favorite pony out of the Mane 6. I know who’s my least favorite and I know who falls in between, but I don’t know who should get that #1 spot. I guess the only way to solve this is to talk about them. The only way I can truly solve this is to start with my least favorite and work my way up. Also for this list, I won’t be including friends they’ve made along the way; so Spike, Discord, and Starlight Glimmer won’t be included…sorry. Now, lets get this list started shall we? And remember, this is my personal opinion.


My Favorite Ponies: The Mane 6

fluttershy_surprised_by_butterfly-shaped_necklace_s1e02
Fluttershy

6). Fluttershy: I don’t like Fluttershy!! I don’t hate her, but I don’t like her (and yes there’s a difference). The reason why I don’t like Fluttershy is how Mary-Sue she is. Just like me when I was younger, Fluttershy is…well shy and just like me, Fluttershy has (had) performance anxiety.  But the difference between Fluttershy and I is that while I slowly grew out of my shyness as I got older, it seemed like every time Fluttershy learned a lesson about being a little less shy, it seemed as though she regressed back into her shyness by the next episode.

Good examples of this are basically any episode before It Ain’t Easy Being Bteezies, because she was”magically cured” by the end of the episode due to her “rainbow connection.” While I can honestly praise episodes such as Hurricane FluttershyDragonshy, and Filli Vanilli, its episodes like It Ain’t Easy Being Breezies, Best Night Ever and especially Putting Your Hoof Down, that put the shy mare at the bottom of my list.

twilight_elements_of_harmony_jewelry_s1e021
Twilight Sparkle

5). (Princess) Twilight Sparkle: Oh, Twilight Sparkle…how you and I don’t get along. When I first started watching My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, Twilight Sparkle annoyed me to the point that I almost stopped watching it after the first fifteen minutes because Twilight was such a snob, I couldn’t stand it. Yes, she’s improved on me since, especially after the second season because she was no longer shoehorned into the plot and you expect me to hate that she’s now Princess Twilight Sparkle and since I came into the series absolutely late, I mean I came in right in the middle of season five…my first episode was The One Where Pinkie Pie Knows, I don’t hate this.

She’s been learning lessons and her lessons paid off in the end. But I hate what has happened afterwards. Ever since, Twilight has hardly no acknowledgement of her status as Princess. In Rarity Takes Manehattan, she couldn’t even get a taxi and when she is acknowledged in Twilight Time, she wasn’t even a main part of the episode…it was a CMC episode. I also hate the fact that she almost caused a war in Party Pooped. If I had to choose one reason why I really don’t like Twilight and why she’s placed at #5 on this list; its how she treats Pinkie Pie. While there has been other moments where she thinks the other five are “beneath” her, Pinkie Pie gets it the most and I hate that. I honestly wish there was an episode where Twilight goes too far and loses Pinkie’s respect and has to work hard to get it back. I want that to happen and I want to happen right. Until then, Twilight Sparkle can stay at #5 on this list.

applejack_22everypony_okay3f22_s1e02
Applejack

4). Applejack: To me, Applejack is that pony that’s in between. I don’t like her, but I don’t really not like her…she’s just there and it makes me sad in a way. The sole Applejack episode I actually liked was The Mane Attraction and it took them five seasons to do that. Maybe its because Applejack actually has her business going and is actually-in my opinion-the only sane pony out of the Mane 6 that its hard to make a good episode out of her. I don’t know why The Mane Attraction worked so well, but it did. Its in my top episodes of season five. Maybe Applejack really shouldn’t be the Element of Honestly and I know through research that fact is positively true. She’s supposed to be the Element of Integrity, which means that I can forgive her more easily when it comes to her lies. I wish I could say more about Applejack, but I really can’t. She’s just there, sadly enough.

rainbow_dash2c_the_element_of_loyalty_s1e02
Rainbow Dash

3). Rainbow Dash: Rainbow Dash really grew on me. I honestly didn’t like her more than Fluttershy when the series first started, but she has really grown on me since. I guess being the Element of Loyalty really does that. One of the things I love most about Rainbow is that she has managed to grow a lot through character development and yeah she makes a mistake every now and then, but she learns her lessons and I just love that. But while I love her improvement, she still has episodes. Some episodes, such as Trade Ya!Testing 1,2,3, and Rainbow Falls are some of my least favorite episodes. I don’t know how to feel about The Mysterious Mare Do Well because it was good to a point. It was nice to teach Rainbow Dash a lesson, but it was executed the wrong way. All that being said, my favorite Rainbow Dash episode is Wonderbolts Academy, it would be my favorite episode of season three if they hadn’t botched the ending. Lets see how Newbie Dash does on Saturday. And it honestly doesn’t hurt that her abridged versions in Scootertrix the Abridged (where she’s known as The Bird) and Friendship is for Adults help her ranking. I love The Bird.

pinkie_pie_you_know_what_this_calls_for_s01e02
Pinkie Pie

2). Pinkie Pie: Taking my #2 spot is the loveable Pinkie Pie. I honestly love Pinkie Pie, there are episodes where she just pisses me off, but most of the time she does what her element tells her to do, and that’s make me laugh. I love how out there she is, she can break-and has-broken the fourth wall so many times and she sings the first song of the series, its cute. I also love Maud, but I can’t put her on this list, maybe a future list. But while I love Pinkie, there are times that she isn’t Pinkie. Episodes like Castle Mane-ia and Green Isn’t Your Color, put her out of character…and don’t get me started on Filli Vanilli, Amy Keating-Rogers is still on my bad side. One of the things I like most about Pinkie episodes is that sometimes, they come with some karmic revenge. Such as The One Where Pinkie Pie Knows is kind of revenge for Green Isn’t Your Color and I love it. I guess the episode could also be revenge for The Last Roundup because they all deal with the same, Pinkie and her promises. My favorite Pinkie Pie episode is a tie between Too Many Pinkie Pies and Pinkie Pride. Even though Pinkie is #2 on this list, she is my all-time favorite character out of the Equestria Girls movies. And if I’m ever upset, I’ll just listen to The Smile Song.

rarity_22so_does_yours22_s1e02
Rarity

1). Rarity: When I first started watching MLP, I never thought I would like Rarity. I didn’t hate her in the beginning, but she definitely had to grow on me and grow she did. My favorite Rarity episode is Sisterhooves Social, that was the episode that made me join the fandom for good. Just like the rest of the Mane 6, Rarity has made her mistakes and she has learned from her mistakes, but I can relate to Rarity’s mistakes more. I’m not as smart as Twilight, I’m not as athletic as Rainbow Dash, I’m not as perky as Pinkie, I don’t care about animals like Fluttershy does, and I’m not a farm girl (though I did grow up in the South) like Applejack, so even if I’m not as much as a Diva as Rarity, I relate to her because of the issues she has with Sweetie Belle. My little sister always wanted to be somewhat like me, but since she was more of my half-sister (we shared the same Dad), I pushed her away…a lot.

And to make matters worst, I got along better with our older sister and her older brother (they share the same Mom) better than her. I got jealous when she hung around my cousins and my old friends instead of hanging around me. We’ve had our fights and now that we’re older, the three of us don’t talk to each other at all. We were on Facebook for a while, but I wanted to delete my old account and none of us has talk to each other since. I’ve missed another Christmas with my Dad’s side of the family and I have a niece and nephew I’ve never met. Of course Rarity and Sweetie Belle won’t go down that level, because its My Little Pony, but I’m glad that she’s working to prepare her sibling relationship, its something I should have done. And that is why Rarity is Best Pony.


Final Thoughts:

rarity_is_best_pony_wallpaper_v2_by_northwestcore-d5vef6g
Rarity is Best Pony, Best Pony Ever!!

I never thought while watching My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic that I would be picking out who’s my favorite pony, but after watching it for awhile, picking out my favorite seems appoririate, especially since I’m gong it be in the fandom for a while. Now that this list is out of the way, I’m going to finally finish my Top Tens for season four and five and keep up with the recaps. I do have other stuff that I need to do as well and I don’t want to get too far behind. This is it for me as of now, but don’t worry, I’ll be back soon. My name is KrisSimsters and Stay Golden.

-Follow me on Tumblr @stoleythegeek!!

-Follow me on Twitter @KrisSimsters!!

Up Next:

  • My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic Top Tens (Season Four)
  • My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic Top Tens (Season Five)
  • Newbie Dash (Next Episode Recap)

New episodes of My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic comes on Saturdays @ 11:30 A.M. ONLY on Discovery Family!!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

