First Impressions: Peanuts (2016)

peppermintpattysleeps
Wake Up Sir

Hey guys, its your girl KrisSimsers and I honestly thought I wouldn’t be writing today, but here we are. This is going to be really short for two reasons; 1). The actual show was short and 2). It caught me off guard so I couldn’t DVR it, so I just watched it live. I think its supposed to be a like a teaser of what we’re hopefully going to get in the future. And that is a Peanuts reboot. I can’t remember the last time Peanuts actually aired TV shows, I think I was in my elementary school days. Besides seeing the usual holiday episodes; It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie BrownA Charlie Brown ChristmasA Charlie Brown Thanksgiving, and Be My Valentine, Charlie Brown, not much Charlie Brown is seen on TV. The latest special that aired was Happiness is a Warm Blanket, Charlie Brown and that came out in 2011. So it took me for a huge shock when I got up this morning is saw that Cartoon Network aired a 15-minute show called Peanuts by Schultz. So lets talk about it.


Peanuts, By Schultz First Impressions:

1). The Animation: The animation for this short took place inside comic strips and that was cute. Out of the two mini episodes that were shown, my favorite was Peppermint Patty in Techincal Difficulties. It mainly focused around Peppermint Patty and her troubles in school. It starts out with her binder trapper her nose (and then foot) and then trapping the teacher’s hand when she tries to hand in her report. She then gets a D-minus on the report and throws it in the trash. By the end of the mini-episode, Peppermint Patty is drenched in rain and so is her report, but when she tries to hand it in, the teacher makes her read the report online and its about the Brazilian Rain Forest. Convince.

2). Voice-Acting: I think the hugest standard in Western Animation is two things; being able to voice Mickey Mouse correctly and not messing up the Peanuts. If Charlie Brown’s voice is off, then everybody in the world goes after you. Because its Peanuts. You can’t really mess that up, which is why I loved the voice-acting in this short. It was really close to the original, but there wasn’t much newness added to their voice and I liked that. It didn’t make me feel weird, the voice was just really good.

3). Plot: Like I said, there wasn’t much plot in this, it was just a fifteen-minute short. What I think–know–what Cartoon Network tried to do was to put on this short so hardly nobody would see it, because its so good that if it does air, it’ll overtake CN’s highest-rated show at the moment, Teen Titans Go! and TTG sucks. It shouldn’t stay on the air for much longer, each season just gets dumber and dumber. I think The Powerpuff Girls is beating TTG in the ratings, but PPG isn’t as good as We Bare Bears, that show is just awesome.


Final Thoughts:

tumblr_m8h02qmsbh1qd1i0no1_1280
Classic moments

There isn’t much else I can say about the show, its only fifteen minutes long and I didn’t DVR because it caught me off-guard. The only thing I can say though is that I hope this gets a full series run, at least one season. One season of pure childhood. One season of Schroeder playing his piano with Lucy leaning over it, one season of Peppermint Patty sleeping in class and Marcie waking her up, and one season of Charlie Brown being Charlie Brown. I would like Cartoon Network to get it right once with these reboots. I like the animation and the voice-acting. Just…don’t ruin this Cartoon Network, as a huge Peanuts fan, I’m begging you not to screw this up. That’s it for me, sorry this is so short, but its a First Impression piece so their supposed to be short. I probably won’t be on here from tomorrow until the Friday after next, so my last post is coming tomorrow. I hope you guys have a great week, my name is KrisSimsters, and Stay Golden.

-Follow me on Tumblr @StoleytheGeek!!

-Follow me on Twitter @KrisSimsters!!

Leave a Reply

