A Hearth’s Warming Tail: My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, 06×08 Recap

applejack_27cakes_and_pastries_we_shall_bring27_s06e08
Happy Hearth’s Warming Eve!!

Hey guys, its your girl KrisSimsters and I made a huge mistake yesterday before leaving: I saw the episode. And the episode was good, really good. So because I saw this episode, I knew I had to write about it, so I brought my laptop with me and after spending the past 16 hours or so with family, I’m ready to recap this episode. Good thing this will give me less to do once I’m back at home. I plan on doing another K-Pop Review too so be on the look out for that. And before anybody else says it, I know…its Christmas in May. Also before we get started, there are some name changes within this episode because it’s based on the Charles Dickens classic A Christmas Carol so for your sake (and mines) I’m going to give you the reverse roles:

  • Twilight Sparkle=Narrator
  • Starlight Glimmer=Snowfall Frost
  • Rainbow Dash=Snowdash
  • Fluttershy=Flutterholly
  • Rarity=Merry
  • Applejack=Spirit of the Hearth’s Warming Past
  • Pinkie Pie=Spirit of the Hearth’s Warming Presents
  • Princess=Spirit of the Hearth’s Warming Yet to Come (I’m keeping this one a secret t till the end. If you’ve seen the episode then you know who it is).

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic: A Hearth’s Warming Tail Recap:

maxresdefault3
You got a good villain song

Its Hearth’s Warming Eve in Ponyville and right off the back, I’m getting season finale vibes from this episode. Honestly though, that would be neat. Having a Christmas episode as the season finale, I would definitely like that. All the ponies are gathered at the Friendship Castle because it has the most room and I honestly think that Twilight would be the only Alicorn Princess to do this because she’s still young. And if that’s the case, then where are Celestia, Luna, and Cadence? Where’s Shining Armor and Flurry Heart? Where’s Sunburst? So many questions, not enough answers. Moving on, this gathering also counts for the first of many songs in the episode and instead of putting them all in throughout this recap, I’ll put it down as a playlist once I’m finished.

The first song is also the reprise for the last song in the episode Hearth’s Warming Eve is Here Once Again and its an OK song. I liked it, but it was nothing more than an exposition song. Once the song is over, Twilight asks Starlight Glimmer if she’s ready to celebrate her first Hearth’s Warming Eve in Ponyville and Starlight says thanks, but no thanks. She doesn’t like Hearth’s Warming Eve and I’m shockingly impressed with how she handled her cult back in season five. If she hated Hearth’s Warming Eve, then imagine how her equality rein was during this time of year, she probably put them to work and had them forget all about the holiday. This probably happened for all holidays too.

When Twilight hears this, she decides that its time that Starlight Glimmer hear a story about Hearth’s Warming Eve and its not the story of how Hearth’s Warming Eve was founded, this one is based on A Christmas Carol. The story is called A Hearth’s Warming Eve Tale (roll credits) and it stars Snowfall Frost, a bitter unicorn who hates Hearth’s Warming Eve and prefers to study magic to better Equestria. And I’m OK with this notion. If you don’t like the holidays then good for you, just don’t belittle others who do like the holidays. She sends her assistant, Snowdash home early because she doesn’t want any distractions, but she still sees the holiday as nothing more than a nuisance, so she decides to get rid of the holiday.

Say Goodbye to the Holiday is easily my favorite song, yes we got like three more, but I love this one. I love a good villain song, which is why I enjoy Battle of the Bands so much, but that movie is a review in the future. Moving on, I love this song but I think this plan is flawed, just like very plan by any MLP-villain because your not removing the day, just the holiday. It isn’t long before the first of three spirits arrive; The Spirit of Hearth’s Warming Past. She says that she’s here to show Snowfall her past and we can see how happy Snowfall used to be and we get out third song of the episode The Seeds of the Past. The song is OK, I’m not a huge fan of Applejack The Spirit’s of Hearth’s Warming Past just going over the top with her vocals. Other than that, its a good song.

In the past, we see how happy Snowfall is as a filly and we see how happy she is to celebrate Hearth’s Warming Eve. And then we get Snape Pony and it makes me sad that Alan Rickman couldn’t voice him (R.I.P Alan Rickman) and part of me wonders if Hasbro had planned on asking him to do before he died. Anyway, Snape Pony–I mean Professor Flintheart–tells her that Hearth’s Warming Eve won’t help her become a more powerful unicorn, so this is when Snowfall started disliking Hearth’s Warming Eve, choosing study and work over having fun. Part two of The Seeds of the Past brings a lot of more meaning than part one did, making the it better half of the song.

Once back in Snowfall’s office, we see a giant present and then we get out next spirit; The Spirit of Hearth’s Warming Presents. Yes, not “Present” but “Presents.” We then get another song called Pinkie’s Present and it certainly has Pinkie written all over it. It has Twilight written over it too since Tara Strong first wanted to audition for Pinkie using a voice similar to Bubbles. I couldn’t enjoy Tara Strong as Pinkie so I’m glad Ms. Strong is Twilight. Moving on.

At the party, Snowdash talks to Flutterholly and Merry (and I’m going to vent for a moment. I mean why couldn’t they go to the extra mile and name Rarity’s character, Merrity? They named Fluttershy “Flutterholly,” and honestly Flutterholly? As though Fluttershy is bad enough, but Flutterholly?!! I’m done venting, lets just get back to the recap) about how Snowfall was acting. Snowfall feels bad, but before she could ask The Spirit of Hearth’s Warming Presents what to do, the Spirit is gone and we get the final spirit, The Spirit of Hearth’s Warming Yet to Come.

And who is The Spirit of Hearth’s Warming Yet to Come? LUNA!! LUNA GETS A SONG AND ITS THE BEST SONG!! I’m not just fan-girling (even though I am fan-girling that Luna is getting more attention this season), this is a good song. Luna’s Future is something I’ve been waiting for for a really long time, Luna has a beautiful singing voice. The song tells the point of what happens if Snowfall’s spell succeeds; Equestria is in an endless winter and the Windigos come back. When she’s back in the present time, Snowfall goes to the party and the ponies welcome her with open arms.

Once the story is finished, Twilight leaves to go down to the party, giving a nudge to Starlight Glimmer to join. She does and we get a reprise of the first song, Hearth’s Warming Eve is Here Once Again. And that’s the episode.


Final Thoughts:

ponies_sing_together_in_the_castle_of_friendship_s6e8
This is how big the Friendship Castle is…the Ponies fit inside

I liked this episode, it was a major improvement on Newbie Dash and the actual story wasn’t that bad, even if it is another remake of A Christmas Carol. The songs were good and I honestly think Daniel Ingram was listening when I was said, “I needed more songs in season six,” because I got five new ones and two of them were good, two of them were OK, and the one song was basically exposition. There is the issue of production once again because I seriously think this was supposed to be a season finale, the way all the ponies are gathered around at the end. It could literally have SEASON FINALE written overtop of it. I honestly hope that the actual season finale is good, but we’re not even halfway there yet. That’s all for me this week, I have to get back to my family. I do have a couple of K-Pop reviews coming so keep a look out for them, but other than that, my name is KrisSimsters and Stay Golden.

-Follow me on Tumblr @StoleytheGeek!!

-Follow me on Twitter @KrisSimsters!!

Up Next:

  • My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic: Saddle Row & Rec. Next episode recap.
  • Kris Reviews K-Pop #4: BTS (Bangtan Boys): Save Me
  • Kris Reviews K-Pop #5: AOA (Aces of Angels): Good Luck
  • My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic Top Tens (Season five)

Songs Playlist:

 

 

Leave a Reply

