PSA: Stop Asking for LGBT Characters in Animation!! (Please)

elsa_remembering_the_past
Please stop asking

Hey guys, its your girl KrisSimsters and I have a quick PSA because I’m getting tired of seeing this around. But first, let’s get this out of the way, I am a bisexual woman. I’ve been a bisexual since I was eighteen. I have dated men and I have dated women, I love them both. I don’t have a preference just yet. Now that we have gotten that out the way, please stop asking for LGBT characters in animation movies and TV shows. This has all started with a tweet that had one request:

giveelsaagirlfriend-share1200

Ever since then, Frozen fans have been tweeting the hashtag: #GiveElsaAGirlfriend and drawing fan art of Elsa with a character from the Frozen sequel. I wasn’t going to talk about this, I honestly thought this was cute because I knew that nobody from Frozen would answer. But then this came yesterday:

Source: Idina Menzel Reponds to #GiveElsaAGirlfriend 

And I have to talk about this now. Look, just because Cartoon Network is sneaking in LGBT characters doesn’t mean everybody else has too. Cartoon Network doesn’t always get it right, see the episode Horn Sweet Horn from the new Powerpuff Girls as proof. And when they do get it right, it’s because the episode demands it, see Lockdown and The Keystone State from Steven Universe as proof. And even if Steven Universe gets it right, Cartoon Network gives them limitations. They can’t go too far.

And now you want this to happen to Elsa…why? Because of a tweet and a petition that Idina Menzel started? What happens if Disney refuses? Will the fandom get mad? If so, then why? It wasn’t the message of the first Frozen movie. The first Frozen movie taught us about sisterhood and women empowerment. You don’t always need a man. What’s her having a lesbian lover going to prove? Nothing!! As a bisexual woman, I’m fustrated by this news, let the people of Frozen work on the sequel!! I do agree on one thing though, kids need to learn about equality, no matter the gender nor sexuality, but you as parents need to do that on your own. If you need too, buy books that’ll help, but don’t let a movie teach little kids lessons that you can very well teach on your own.

Not everybody has to be gay, not everybody has to be straight, but don’t let animated movies teacher your kids more than they have too. My name is KrisSimsters and Stay Golden.

Social Media Follows:

Leave a Reply

