My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic; Applejack’s “Day” Off & Flutter Brutter (Double Recap)

medium
I’m Fluttershy right now…

Hey guys, its your girl KrisSimsters and I feel like Fluttershy of all people. For those of you who don’t know, I’ve had some issues come up in the last week so I couldn’t really watch My Little Pony like I normally would that week. So this means that I get to do a double recap and because I’m actually kinda pressed for time, the recaps for both episodes will be shorter–or as short as I can get because Flutter Brutter was actually good–than usual. So without going any deeper into details about my absence, lets jump into those recaps, shall we? One more last thing before we start, since a mid-season break is coming soon, I’ll be able to focus more on my Top Tens list (I actually have a Top Twenty list I want to do based on my favorite personal episodes so I hope I can get that done during the break) and have a Summer K-Pop Collection out. Alright, now we can focus on the recaps.


My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic: Applejack’s “Day” Off Thoughts:

vlcsnap-00002
I Made it Rarity!!

I figured the only way I can get this done quicker than normal is by mixing up the recap formula a bit and just give you my personal thoughts of the episodes in the way of a recap, so here goes:

What I liked most about this episode is that its a Rarijack episode and I love Rarijack episodes. I feel like they’ve come along full circle since their days of Look Before you Sleep. Especially since Rarity is now willing to spend time with Applejack, but I wasn’t really feeling this episode as a whole and for many reasons. I feel like since the season started, the rest of the Apples haven’t been prominent shown and this would have been a good episode to show them all in. Its not like Applejack runs Sweet Apple Arcs by herself, she does have family who pulls in their equal share of work. The farm isn’t going to fall apart just because Applejack’s not there, unless the rest of the Apple family decided to take the day off all in the same day, then Twilight and Spike taking over shouldn’t have happened.

Another issue I have with this episode is Applejack. This whole episode was a huge deformation of her character that we’re heading back into Applebuck Season and I honestly hate that. Every time the writers work on an Applejack episode, they need to give her a certain flaw because Applejack’s the only one out of the Mane 6 really put together and has been since episode one. She has own business and most of the events held in Ponyville are at Sweet Apple Acres. What more can you really teach a well roundabout character? The episode wasn’t bad, it could have been better though, especially with the spa. And honestly, I wouldn’t want to be at a spa where everything was broken and you had to be the only one who knew how to fix it. When I come to a spa, I just want to relax.

I’ll give my full thoughts on this episode later, so for now, lets move on to Flutter Brutter.

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic: Flutter Brutter Thoughts:

sig-4547511-1169969__safe_rainbow20dash_screencap_spoiler-colon-s06e11_flutter20brutter_zephyr20breeze
This ship will never happen.

Before I go any deeper, let me just say that as much as I liked this episode, I don’t like Zephyr. And not because he’s a lazy A-hole, but because that means Fluttershy’s another sister. Something I’ve noticed in My Little Pony is that almost everypony in the Mane 6–now including Fluttershy–has at least one sibling. And no, I’m not counting Rainbow even though her relationship with Scootaloo is sweet. Applejack’s a middle child, Rarity’s an older sister, Twilight’s an younger sister, Pinkie Pie is a middle child, and now Fluttershy’s an older sister. If Rainbow ends up having a sibling, then I’m done. Which is why–since Rainbow Dash’s family isn’t fully explained yet–I’m begging for Rainbow to be an only child. It’ll be unique for her character.

Onto the actual episode. What I liked about this episode is how lazy Zephyr Breeze is because it represents how lazy some of us are. And I love Fluttershy’s character improvement within this episode. And I love that Fluttershy’s full name is Fluttershy Shy because its one step away from a K-Pop meme. If you listen to K-Pop, then you’ll know what I’m talking about. Moving on, the way he bounced around the Mane 6 when it came to actually working was funny too, but I just wish that Applejack and Pinkie were more apart of the plot. After their one-liners, they aren’t seen for the rest of the episode. They wasted a perfectly good plot, but then again the episodes are 22 minutes long.

The song of the episode, Can I Do it On my Own is a good one, we haven’t really heard a Flutterdash song since May the Best Pet Win and I found that more of an exposition song. The only thing I don’t like about this episode is Zephyr (I know my mind is weird). I don’t hate him, I just don’t like his obsession with Rainbow. If I’m pairing Rainbow up with any stallion, its Soarin because they fit more. Zephyr fits well into the “My Sibling’s Best Friend” trope and its a TV cliche. Its even more of a cliche because Rainbow falls into the “Leave me Alone” trope.

Honestly though, I could sum this episode up as a Cutie Map Mission episode, but apparently that’s next week’s episode.


Final Thoughts:

1170359__safe_fluttershy_screencap_animated_loop_spoiler-colon-s06e11_flutterbrutter_zephyrbreeze
Zephyr you A-Hole

Both episodes were enjoyable, but I loved Flutter Brutter more. While Applejack’s “Day” Off was more straightforward as a Rarijack episode, Flutter Brutter was more amusing. As I stated before, I hate how the writers “give” Applejack a flaw because they don’t know how to write for her, I find her more of a Mary-Sue than Fluttershy because of how well-off she was when the series started and it harmed her in the end. And despite Fluttershy being my least favorite pony–yes Bronies, I went there–I loved her character improvement in this episode. Season five and season six–so far, has been very good for her character improvement. Do I want to see more of Zephyr Breeze? No, honestly. Unless he’s a cameo in the season finale, I don’t want to see him anymore. I feel like his focus was enough for one season. Next week is the mid-season finale, which is good because I have some stuff to catch up on, so until next week, my name is KrisSimsters and Stay Golden.


Social Media Follows:

Up Next:

  • Next Recap: Spice Up Your Life: My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic
  • Top Tens: My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic (Season Five)
  • Top Tens: Bob’s Burgers
  • Top Tens (20): My Favorite Personal Episodes (Special)
Leave a Reply

