Kris Reviews K-Pop #22: Red Velvet-Russian Roulette

2016-09-06-7
Life is a Bore

Hey guys, it’s your girl, KrisSimsters and I’ve been on a break from this blog, half of the reason why was because I was still recovering from Born to be Wild, but the other half was because I needed a break. I wanted to do something for me and now I’ve gotten that somewhat started, I can start the game of balance once again and I’m glad I’m off break, because I got Red Velvet to talk about!! I loved Russian Roulette, I’m glad they came back with a good song. It’s half Red, half Velvet and it might have managed to top Red Dress as my favorite Red Velvet song so far. In a quick amount of words, this song is cute and I found the M/V funny. And between this is Bobby, I wanted to talk about this one first. So let’s talk about Red Velvet first, shall we?

If you haven’t seen the M/V yet and you want to focus on your own opinion, then click on the video below. This is my sole opinion and everybody is entitled to their own:


2016-09-06-19
I Love Nuts and Bolts for Breakfast

Red Velvet: Russian Roulette M/V. Views: 479,837.

M/V and Dance:

While I didn’t see much of a dance with this M/V–I’ll just wait for the live version–this M/V was very colorful. Very Red Velvet. The main point of this M/V is that the members of Red Velvet are trying to kill each other and I personally found it funny. The M/V is called Russian Roulette and I’m glad the M/V is living up to its name. This is probably one of their best eras style wise. While they still look unique, their outfits and hair is awesome, especially Wendy’s. It might have taken them almost two years, but I’m glad she finally got a good hair style since her blue tips hair in Happiness.

Another thing I liked about the M/V was that it had its own Tom and Jerry/Itchy and Scratchy animation integrated into the M/V so we could actually see cartoon violence instead of the real version. That was a good move, SM, but we all know this was a way for you to work around the censors. Overall, I can see why people don’t like this M/V, but I do love it.

The Song:

Whenever Red Velvet wants to have a great song, SM makes sure it’s repetitive and catchy and that’s exactly what this was. I liked it, especially if you’ve been in K-Pop long enough, then you’d know that SM’s repetitive songs are their best songs. Examples are GeeSorry, and last year’s Dumb Dumb. It makes me wonder if SHINee will do a repetitive song for their comeback, they haven’t done one in a while. I have a love-hate relationship with the meaning of the song and it puts the M/V into respective, but the lyrics are cute. I do love the “Beat-beat-beat” section, that’s going to stay in my head for a while.


2016-09-06-31
Bird of Death

Final Thoughts:

This is a good way of kicking off the fall season. Between this, Bobby, and whatever BTS is up too for the summer, I’m honestly excited. Hopefully, it’ll be better than the second half of summer. I have to do Bobby sooner or later, so look out for him. Until then, my name is KrisSimsters and Stay Golden.

Social Media Follows:

Leave a Reply

