Kris Reviews K-Pop #31: I.O.I-Very Very Very

2016-10-25-1
A Foot Fetish is a Weird Way to Start Off a K-Pop M/V…

Hey guys, it’s your girl KrisSimsters and it took me about a week, but I’m finally reviewing I.O.I’s last title track, Very Very Very. This song has been stuck in my head for a while, every time my mind wanders, it’s always to Somi singing the chorus at the beginning of the song. The only reason I’m even reviewing I.O.I is because I voted for Somi while they were still on Produce 101, she’s the only one–in my opinion–who has really improved while on the show. I mean, let’s be honest, she sucked a little during her audition in episode one. I mean if anybody sucked more than her, it was Risa and Sohye. I’m still annoyed Sohye managed to get in the group. #JusticeforHanHyeri. Good thing Jeon Soyeon made it out when she did, Unpretty Rapstar was the best thing she did. Anyway, enough rambling, let’s talk about I.O.I before they disband.


2016-10-25-3

Kris Reviews K-Pop #31: I.O.I-Very Very Very. Views: 6,926,577. Likes: 134,389.

Dance & M/V:

What’s interesting about this last M/V is that JYP, Somi’s label decided to produce the M/V and yet Somi got the least amount of lines. She doesn’t even get to sing any part of the actual song, just the chorus. She has as much lines as Sohye. Enough of the song, lets talk about the actual M/V. It has a very Red Velvet feel to it, it reminds me of Dumb Dumb and Russian Roulette. It’s colorful, fast-paced, and there are multiple copies of the girls everywhere. The only difference I could find between I.O.I and Red Velvet is the feet thing.

The feet thing bugs me and I’ve survived some of the weirdest things SHINee and EXO have put in their M/Vs. I mean, I survived SHINee’s Everybody and the beginning to that M/V was just weird. Point is, the feet thing makes the M/V seems pervy and that I shouldn’t be watching it. Again, Somi is like ten years younger than me in Korean years, which means she’s 15 in the US. I don’t want to see their feet in colorful socks.

2016-10-25-14

The Song:

As I’ve stated before, this song is very much like Red Velvet, I’m getting a Dumb Dumb feeling off this song. It’s very catchy and full of rhymes. But it’s the meaning of the song I’m not a huge fan of, I’m starting to get tired of these “Do you like me,” “Tell me when you like me,” “I love you, but you don’t love me,” songs. I mean first Ailee, now I.O.I and most recently TWICE. Not even BTS talks about romance all the time, at least their M/Vs has an actual storyline behind it. Dalshabet tried not to go the cutesy-girl route and now their hardly charting. And that sucks because I love their song. And this song isn’t bad, I still like this M/V, but I’m just tired of the “Love me oppa, I love you,” messages. Give me some variety, next girl group who decides to make a comeback.


2016-10-25-17

Final Thoughts:

With TWICE making a comeback and I.O.I ending soon, I hear MAMAMOO, BIGBANG and BLACKPINK are making comebacks soon. After they comeback, I’m going to do my Fall Collection and that’ll be it for me for 2016 K-Pop wise. I might do some Top Tens in December, but again, I’m not reviewing anything in December because it’ll be mostly Christmas stuff and as for now, I don’t have time for that. Literally. I started working recently and there’s a huge possibility that I’m working Black Friday and–hopefully not–Christmas Eve. So until next time, I’m KrisSimsters and Stay Golden.

Leave a Reply

