Kris Reviews K-Pop #32: Hyolyn (SISTAR) ft. Dok2-Love Like This

2016-10-25-28
Lovely Hyolyn

Hey guys, it’s your girl, KrisSimsters and I’m tired of these white bars. They have become a daily occurence every time a new K-Pop–particularly girl groups–M/V comes out. It’s so distracting and it’s honestly taking away more of the M/V than enhancing it and I didn’t mind it while I was reviewing K-Pop as much as I’m doing now, but this isn’t one of my favorite things in K-Pop at the moment. It’s getting a little annoying. Enough talking about these white bars, lets talk about the lovely Hyolyn and her comeback solo, Love Like This.

If you haven’t seen the M/V yet, then fear not. As always, I’ll have the link down below and since this M/V is coming from two official channels, I’m going to do something different and add up the views from each M/V. I know I should have been doing this sooner, but yeah…I think of these ideas after the fact. Lets get on to this review, as soon as this review is out, I’m going to bed.


2016-10-25-38

Kris Reviews K-Pop #32: Hyolyn ft. Dok2-Love Like This. Views: 190,642. Likes: 27,247.

M/V & Dance:

There is no dance of Hyolyn dancing, but I loved that the M/V is in black and white. A personal of mines since the days of T.O.P’s solo debut days, if a M/V is in black and white, then it better be a good M/V. This is a damn good M/V. If you’re wondering if this M/V is familiar in anyway, then let me help you.

Yes, it’s the same dirt road that Jessica and Red Velvet used in their appropriate M/Vs between 2015 and 2016. And those are the only two I know about, but I’m sure other groups know about this special dirt road. What’s so great about this dirt road? And don’t say it’s pretty, we all know it’s pretty, but this reminds me of everybody in K-Pop using either the same brick room or the same street ave that occurred from 2011 to 2013…I think. I know the space for making K-Pop M/Vs are limited, but damn.

But even though it’s the same dirt road we’ve been at least two other times before, Hyolyn makes this road look sexy. She doesn’t do much in the M/V, just a little dance along with singing and driving around in her car, but this is still a good M/V. I love her outfits and I can honestly tell you that she was giving me a photo-shoot. I got the best screenshots I’ve ever been able to capture in this M/V.

These are some of my favorites. I love her so much.

2016-10-25-52

The Song:

This is a nice, autumn song. Even if this looks like it was filmed in the middle of summer, it makes a good song. Dok2’s voice fills the space nicely and even though I loved the live version and I love I.M., I just think Dok2’s voice fits better in this song. There are some downsides though, because I thought Hyolyn would be rapping. I’m kinda sad she’s not rapping yet, I mean come on Starship, what else does she have to do for you to give her something with rapping. I know Bora’s gotta do something…so Hyolyn can’t be the jack of all trades. Also, this is a love/breakup song and yeah, you guys know how I feel about that at the moment. They are not my favorite types of songs. But I love Hyolyn and this is a good song, so I’m conflicted as of now.


2016-10-25-51

Final Thoughts:

I don’t have much to say, I’m kinda tired right now since I’ve started working again. I did love this song, but I don’t know how I feel about this song because it’s a romance/breakup song. Dok2’s voice fits perfectly just like Hyolyn’s. I personally just hope that she gets to rap soon, it would be nice to switch things up instead of the usual ballads and love songs. Speaking of rapping, Miyro and Giant Pink just came out with a song so I might have a listen to that. I probably won’t be doing any reviewing tomorrow unless it’s a group I’m really excited about. I have some personal writing I need to get as much as I can done because I don’t like writing on days I’m working unless it’s for review purposes. So until next time, my name is KrisSimsters and Stay Golden. Also, goodnight.

Social Media Follows:

Leave a Reply

