Kris Reviews K-Pop #38: 2NE1-Goodbye

2017-01-20-14

Hey guys, it’s your girl KrisSimsters and I’m back after my three-week break. I had originally planned for the break to be two weeks, but I then had writer’s block so I gave myself an extra week. Sorry about that, but I needed some me time. And yeah, AOA came back too during that break so it might be a while before I write about the, I do have a Winter playlist to release before Spring and I need to catch up on my RWBY stuff. Anyway, this isn’t about AOA or RWBY, but about 2NE1’s last song. And I’m not going to lie…it’s good. So no more stalling, lets talk about 2NE1’s Goodbye shall we?


2017-01-20-32

Kris Reviews K-Pop #28: 2NE1-Goodbye:

(Release Date: January 20th. Views: 459,219):

M/V & Dance:

There isn’t a dance to this M/V, so I’ll just talk about the M/V. I love the black and white feel to it. I don’t like 2NE1 as much as I used to, but I cannot turn down any M/V in grayscale or black and white…they are my K-Pop fetish. And if you are going to use my K-Pop fetish, then it better be a damn good M/V and as usual, YG delivers. I’ve stated this many times, I don’t have a problem with YG music-wise. Their M/Vs are always high quality and most of their songs are good. My problem with YG is how he manages his “artists” and how he’ll keep a new group in the dungeon for years when–again–they are a new group, but that is another topic for another day.

I don’t hate this M/V, even though I personally think Missing You is probably the best M/V they have ever released. One of the things I spent half the video wondering was whether Dara was being a dramatic ghost was supposed to represent Minzy. Yes, she’s seen through the cinematic flashbacks, but Dara had that sheet cover her up so much that until the reveal, I honestly thought it was going be Minzy. It would have been nice if YG had filmed this goodbye M/V before Minzy left, but of course YG’s the biggest troll king in K-Pop so of course there was a possibility that she wasn’t going to be part of it. And that’s kinda fucked up, that YG Entertainment cares more about money, then its second-largest fanbase that fans couldn’t have gotten a full goodbye. And it brings me to the song.

2017-01-20-4

The Song:

Before I go further into this, I will say that the song is not bad. But being as it’s just CL, Dara, and BOM singing this song…it was definitely missing Minzy. It didn’t sound like a complete song, Minzy’s vocals would have made this so much better. When SNSD released their first song after Jessica left, it was missing her voice and when Lion Heart was released months later, the song sounded better, but it was still missing Jessica. Bom and CL carried the song more than Dara did, who sung only the chorus. Dara didn’t get a verse like CL or Bom got and this is supposed to be a finale. I would have honestly though Dara would have gotten a verse, even if it was a small one. 2NE1 as a three-member group isn’t the worst thing in the world, but without Minzy it doesn’t sound the best.

The beat to the song is great, I loved hearing the guitar. CL and Bom kept up with the beat rather well and honestly, Bom’s vocals still sound good. I’m not going to lie, I thought the vocals would have taken a turn for the worst after the scandal, but if being in a scandal means you get more vocal training, then I wish Dara would have gotten in a scandal too. I hope Bom continues singing, despite what YG says. I honestly hope the rumors about Bom heading to Music Works Ent with Minzy is true, it would be nice to have them together again.


2017-01-20-43

Final Thoughts:

This is the end of 2NE1 so the only questions I want to ask is where do the girls go from here? With Bom and Minzy out the picture, is it right to still call Dara and CL 2NE1? And since Dara is still in YG, will she get a solo in 2017? Will CL finally have her “American debut” for the fifth time? I honestly wish the best for all of them, even CL. This was a good song and between this, AOA, and the last song by IOI. It’s been a good year so far. Until next time, my name is KrisSimsters and Stay Golden.

Final Rating: 7.5/10=Good Song, but missing the Minzy factor.

Social Media Follows:

Leave a Reply

