Kris Reviews Movies #1: Moana

disney-moana-maui

Hey guys, it’s your girl KrisSimsters and man has this vacation been long. For those of you who don’t know, I’ve been working for like the few months now and recently, it was way too much so I took some time off to get myself together and hopefully come back to this blog refreshed. Honestly, me taking a break was the best thing for not only me, but also you guys because if I had started this new segement while I was on my mini break, I would have had a meltdown. And that wouldn’t have been pretty. Long story short, I am back and I’m finally going to talk about Moana, which I wanted to do for a while. So lets talk about Moana, shall we?

And while I will try and keep as many spoilers as I can out of this, I won’t make promises.


sub-buzz-23857-1489271492-4

Background:

Moana is Disney’s 56th’s animated movie and was released in theaters on November 23rd, 2016. It was recently released on Blu-Ray, Digital and DVD on March 7th, 2017. It stars Auli’i Cravlho as the titular character alongside as Dwayne “The Rock” Johnson as Maui, a demi-god as the two go to return the heart to the island of Te Fiti, which Maui stole a thousand years ago. Moana raised $82M in it’s opening weekend and managed to make over $240 million in the box office before it’s Blu-Ray, Digital, and DVD release. It even earned a 95% rating on Rotten Tomatoes.


Pros & Cons:

moana-shiny-tamatoa

Pros:

There are many things I love about Moana and fortunately the good outweighs the bad in this movie. The songs in this movie are amazing, I love every single one. If I had to choose one song to particularly watch out for besides the every popular How Far I’ll Go, it’s definitely Shiny. Just the whole setting for that song is perfect, I loved Jemaine Clement as Tamatoa, the giant crab monster. I mean honestly, I love how things from a fun song to a dark one when he catches Maui as he’s trying to get his hook back. Another song that I definitely love is I Am Moana, which isn’t even a “real song.” If I’m being honest, I Am Moana is definitely better than How Far I’ll Go, even if they both carry the same message of being badass and getting the job done.

The last pro I wanted to give the movie is too the movie itself. The story is good; the characters get some good development and I love how gorgeous the movie looks. I mean the ocean itself is amazing, and it’s supposed to be a major feature to the movie, because if the water looked horrible then the movie’s screwed. Honestly, Disney’s digital computer-animated movies have come a long way from the days of Chicken Little and I don’t need to be reminded of that again.

The Cons:

Like I said before, there are pros and cons in this movie, but fortunately, the cons outweigh the good. If I’m being honestly, the only con I would probably have is in the last battle in the third act between Moana and Te Ka. Don’t get me wrong, I loved this scene, it’s gorgeously done, but…it’s also kinda obvious.

moana-teka-lava-monster

What if this hadn’t worked? What if Moana had fucked up? How could she have known for sure that Te Ka was Te Fiti? Yes, she had the symbol that matched The Heart of the Ocean, but again, this could have been just a strange consequence and Moana could have once again, fucked up. For a movie that showed up that even Moana has flaws, this was a huge gamble and I honestly believe it worked because she’s a Disney Princess. The only other thing I don’t like about this movie was the villagers refusal to listen to her.

I don’t know about you, but if there were dark things happening on my island and the only thing that could save my food and drinking water was to travel to another island, then I would travel. Yes, Moana’s Dad had a very good reason for not traveling, he was afraid of going back into the ocean after his friend died, but I wouldn’t put my villagers lives in danger of dying, if I had the perfect way of keeping them out of danger. Dead friend is bad, but dead villagers and family is far worst.


c9762bb6511057e472e215202049cab9

Final Thoughts:

Regardless of how I felt about the last bit of the third act, I loved this movie a lot more than I hated it. It was incredibly beautiful, the songs were fantastic and I loved the story a lot more than I intended too and that’s coming for somebody who was already impressed from the teaser, which revealed nothing of the plot. Something that doesn’t happen that much often. I loved the casting and I’m so happy that Auli’i Cravlho got her chance to shine and I hope to see her around more in the future. And also, I don’t know how often I’m going to do these movie reviews, I do know that if I do something that I’m interested in, I’m going to wait until it comes out on Blu-Ray, Digital and DVD because it gives me more time to prepare. I know I’m doing Lego Batman in the future, but I’m also considering doing Sing and some old movies. But until next time, my name’s KrisSimsters and Stay Golden.

Social Media Follows:

 

Leave a Reply

